Skip to main content

AAAS 103: Introduction to African Studies: Getting Started

Professor: Charles D. Piot

Africa: The DVD @ Lilly Library

Africa [videorecording] written and presented by Basil Davidson

Disc 1 (episode 1). Different but equal -- disc 2 (episode 2). Mastering a continent -- disc 3 (episode 3). Caravans of gold -- disc 4 (episode 4). The king and the city -- disc 5 (episode 5). The Bible and the gun -- disc 6 (episode 6). This magnificent African cake -- disc 7 (episode 7). The rise of nationalism -- disc 8 (episode 8). The legacy.~~~

Required Texts:

The thing around your neck [electronic resource].

Mistaking Africa [electronic resource] : curiosities and inventions of the American mind

KING LEOPOLD'S GHOST: A STORY OF GREED, TERROR, AND HEROISM IN COLONIAL AFRICA. (e-book ordered 1/25/2016)

Dead aid : why aid is not working and how there is a better way for Africa  (Location: Perkins Reserve)

NOSTALGIA FOR THE FUTURE: WEST AFRICA AFTER THE COLD WAR.(e-book ordered 1/25/2016)

 

[Will update page when e-books are in the system-- kj]

Database Help

Getting Started: Key databases to use

Africa-Wide NiPAD  

Provides multi-disciplinary coverage about African including politics, history, economics, business, mining, development, social issues, anthropology, natural history, literature, language, law, music and much more

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007

This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries.

Voyages : the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade

Includes four databases which contain records of nearly 35,000 separate slaving voyages between 1514 and 1866.

Meet Your Librarian

As the subject specialist for African Studies and African American Studies, I am the library liaison to the Department of African and African American Studies and the Duke University Center for African and African American Research.  I select all types of materials for the library (print, electronic, and visual) and I am currently developing collection polices for Africa – China Relations, African Foodways, and Afro-Caribbean History and Culture

Subject Librarian

Karen Jean Hunt
Contact:
International and Area Studies

Perkins Library

919-660-5930

k.j.hunt@duke.edu
Website / Blog Page