Skip to main content

Greatest Living American Writer: Getting Started

Welcome to the library research guide for Kevin Casey's Spring 2013 Writing 101 course.

Background Info

McCarthy 1965

Literature Resource Center great source of biographical and critical info about authors

Oxford Reference Online Oxford subject encyclopedias; search authors, terms, works

Cambridge Collections Online subject encyclopedias from Cambridge 

Companion to Literature and Film Lilly Stacks and online

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society introductory articles on movements, terms, and history

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism explanations of literary terms, movements, theories

Citing Sources

Check out these sites for tips on citing sources:

Create a free account in RefWorks, a web-based program that will help you collect, organize, share and format citations, or explore Zotero.

Ask a Librarian

Chat requires JavaScript.

Stuck? Ask a Librarian!

Find Books, Films, and More

default tab comparison between the All Tab and the Catalog tab
Locate books, films, recordings, journals, and more using the Duke University Libraries catalog.  Start with a keyword search, and narrow results using the column on the left.

Search TRLN to find and request books from UNC-Chapel Hill, NCCU, or NC State.  Delivery to campus in 2 business days.

Can't wait?  You can use your Duke Card to check books out anytime at TRLN partner libraries if you make the trip yourself!

Try WorldCat to search most North American libraries simultaneously;  use "get it @ Duke" to request what Duke doesn't own via Interlibrary Loan.  Allow 2 weeks.

Find Journal Articles, Reviews, and More: Top Databases


MLA International Bibliography main literature database, good source for critical articles but not reviews

Film Indexes Online cast and tech info on films and "get it @ duke" links to reviews;  FIAF Int'l Index to Film Periodical-scholarly articles on film

Humanities Abstracts great interdisciplinary database for arts and humanities disiciplines, including dance, religion, film, and cross-cultural perspectives


ProQuest scholarly journals in all fields, plus popular/media sources

Project Muse (current) and JSTOR (historical issues) full-text collections of core scholarly journals in all fields

Your Librarian

Dave Munden
108 Lilly Library

ph: 919-660-9465

fx: 919-660-5999


This course guide lists selected library resources that might be useful to you in researching your projects for this course.  There's lots more where this came from!  If you don't find what you need here, e-mail me or Ask a Librarian.