Before you start your research
Put together a list of concepts, facts, dates, unique names, and other scholarly vocabulary for use in your search; start with the following encyclopedias:
- Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
- Cambridge Histories Online (Includes several Cambridge histories of philosophy)
- Encyclopedia of Ethics
- Enzyklopaedie Philosophie und Wissenschaftstheorie
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- Lexikon philosophischer Grundbegriffe der Theologie
- Literature Resource Center
- MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences
- Oxford Reference Philosophy and Religion
- Philosophenlexikon
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Handbuch philosophischer Grundbegriffe
Tips for research on the Internet
There are many search engines, and some of them offer tutorials on how to use a search engine efficiently:
| + (plus sign) | all words connected with + will be searched |
| -- (Minus sign) | exclude a word that gives too many irrelevant results |
| OR |
helps you retrieve results for two related items at the same time |
| ”abcde“ (quotation marks) | search on an exact phrase |
| ~ (tilda) | in front of a word - searches that word and synonym |
Ask for Help
Use this IM chat box to contact a librarian for general questions; for research consultations contact heidi.madden@duke.edu
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Philosophy |









Loading...
