Skip to main content

Gender and Space: Getting Started

This guide will help you with library research for your semester writing projects.

Background Info


 Dartmouth women protesting

Dartmouth women and allies protest against frat (Jan 18, 2008)

ABC-CLIO ebook Collection, formerly History Reference Online, is an online collection of hundreds of history reference titles published by ABC-Clio. This is a fantastic resource, which can be browsed by subject categories or full-text searched by keyword.

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender

Oxford Reference Online Oxford subject encyclopedias; search authors, terms, works

Cambridge Collections Online subject encyclopedias from Cambridge 

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society introductory articles on movements, terms, and history


Citing Sources

Check out these sites for tips on citing sources:

Create a free account in RefWorks, a web-based program that will help you collect, organize, share and format citations, or explore Zotero.

Ask a Librarian

chat loading...

Find Books, Films, and More

default tab comparison between the All Tab and the Catalog tab
Locate books, films, recordings, journals, and more using the Duke University Libraries catalog.  Start with a keyword search, and narrow results using the column on the left.

Search TRLN to find and request books from UNC-Chapel Hill, NCCU, or NC State.  Delivery to campus in 2 business days.

Can't wait?  You can use your Duke Card to check books out anytime at TRLN partner libraries if you make the trip yourself!

Try WorldCat to search most North American libraries simultaneously;  use "get it @ Duke" to request what Duke doesn't own via Interlibrary Loan.  Allow 2 weeks.

Hint:  If you find a book that matches your research interest, be sure to look at the subject headings.  These subject headings may lead you to other useful materials.  For example:

Coeducation -- United States -- History
Women -- Education (Higher) -- United States
Women college students
Feminism and higher education

Find Journal Articles, Reviews, and More: Top Databases


America: History and Life (1954 to present) The first database you should consult to identify secondary literature in the field of U.S. history. It abstracts articles and provides bibliographic citations to reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the US and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.

Education Full Text Premier database for research in higher education

Historical Abstracts Contains citations and abstracts to books and articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

GenderWatch  GenderWatch is a full-text collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's studies and gender issues.

Women's Studies International Indexes feminist research literature in a wide range of subject areas including: medicine and health, literature, sociology, history, international relations, arts and humanities, business, political science, public policy, education, economics, law, and psychology.


ProQuest scholarly journals in all fields, plus popular/media sources

Project Muse (current) and JSTOR (historical issues) full-text collections of core scholarly journals in all fields

Your Librarian

Dave Munden
108 Lilly Library

ph: 919-660-9465

fx: 919-660-5999


This course guide lists selected library resources that might be useful to you in researching your projects for this course.  There's lots more where this came from!  If you don't find what you need here, e-mail me or Ask a Librarian.