Skip to main content

Duke Immerse Human Rights: Why Use the Library?

Not everything is free

Access fee-based databases with thousands of magazines and scholarly journals in full text. View a 1-minute tutorial on finding a database or browse databases by subject.

Not everything is scholarly or authoritative

Librarians and faculty spend time selecting quality materials (books, journals, and e-resources) especially for your interests and for your classes.

Not everything is transparent

Get personal assistance from Duke University Library subject specialists, including librarians from the International and Area Studies department.

Ask us now

Not everything is on the web, not everything is a book

Duke library collections include many types of research materials about various aspects of the study of  Human RIghts. Browse and read books, magazines, encyclopedias, and other printed and audiovisual materials as well as many electronic resources, but our resources also include  archival and special collections  such as the  Human RIghts Archive  in Rubenstein Library that are not available online or in electronic format.

Many collection materials are presented in one form or another in the Library Catalog (see the box to the left)  but some online  collections and some special collections are not easy to identify.  Consult a librarian using the Ask A Librarian button above or identify the appropriate subject librarian (see list) or contact Carson for assistance.

Duke's Human Rights Archivist has prepared a page on  Latin American Human Rights:

You don't have to be in the library to use it

Use the online catalog to identify many of the resources that can be accessed from off-campus

Some examples of  good subject headings to explore:


Take a virtual tour (>5 min) of Duke University's Perkins Library.

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth

Perkins and Lilly Libraries