Skip to main content

Belief and Doubt: Spring 2012: Library Links

This guide will get your started on your Writing 20 projects which require research.

Citing sources

Check out these sites for tips on citing sources:

Create a free account in RefWorks, a web-based program that will help you collect, organize, share and format citations.

Top databases for your WR20 class

Search these databases for scholarly (peer reviewed) articles on a range of topics:

Academic Search Complete provides full-text articles on nearly every academic field of study.  1975 to present

Sociological Abstracts  Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

SocINDEX with Full Text includes articles and chapters on all aspects of sociology.  1908 to present

LexisNexis Academic is the best full-text source for local, national and international news.  1990s to present

Communication and Mass Media includes articles and research in the fields of communication and mass media

Education Full Text covers contemporary education issues, including higher ed, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, and information technology.  1994 to present

America: History and Life is the premier database for articles on the history and culture of Canada and the US

Political Science Complete  premier database for scholarly literature in political science

PAIS includes articles and books on polictical and economic issues and public policy.

CQ Researcher includes reports on current and controversial issues with topics ranging from the environment to healthcare.

Google Scholar includes citations to scholarly articles on a range of topics.  Learn how to make the most of Google Scholar.

*Click on "Choose Databases" to search Academic Search Complete, Communication and Mass Media Complete and others simultaneously.

Tips for using Duke's databases

Click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Enter database name (see below for starting points), or click Find Databases by Subject.

Need help choosing a database? Check out this short tutorial (1 min).

Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min).

Not available through Duke? Request it from another library using Document Delivery.

Your Librarian

Dave Munden
108 Lilly Library

ph: 919-660-9465

fx: 919-660-5999